Souls Series Wiki Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

3 posters

Dark Souls Analysis with Update #1 & #2

Deathsitexxi
    Deathsitexxi
    Addicted
    Addicted

Dark Souls Analysis with Update #1 & #2 Empty Dark Souls Analysis with Update #1 & #2

Post by Deathsitexxi Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:50 pm

I’ve put a lot of thought into this and looked pretty deep (perhaps too deep) into Dark Souls lore and item descriptions. I’m an analyst at my day to day job so it’s very likely that I’m over thinking this. I’ll first give some definitions that I think are the most important to the Dark Souls lore. I’m not giving the definitions because I think you don’t know what they mean I’m doing so to show what the game is saying they mean.

This is how we see these words by our definitions.

Immortal- Not mortal; not liable or subject to death; undying

Undead-no longer alive but animated by a supernatural force, technically dead but reanimated

Time- duration regarded as belonging to the present life as distinct from the life to come or from eternity; finite duration

However, I believe the Dark Souls world goes something like this

Immortal- Not mortal; or subject to death by the passage of time. However, can be killed.

Undead-Not mortal or immortal. Meaning time degrades their physical bodies and can still cause their death. However, upon that death whether it is by someone else’s hand or the passage of time they are reanimated. **edit Long story short- Undead-meaning Without true death, they can not die.

Time- has the same traditional meaning. However, time is a lot more relative to the life/death cycle and the meanings I’ve given above.