Souls Series Wiki Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

+5
omega Elf
DoughGuy
WyrmHero
Forum Pirate
Geeza
9 posters

Progression and honour in PvP

Geeza

Progression and honour in PvP Empty Progression and honour in PvP

Post by Geeza Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:46 pm

I'll start this post by saying that I have just signed up to this forum, although I have been lurking here for several months now. So hello everybody!

I get the general impression that most people who post here have a dislike for gankers and dishonorable pvpers. It's really not surprising, nobody enjoys being stunlocked or hornet ring 1HKO'd mid bow, myself included. But I just thought I'd share my perspective on this, as I more or less started as one of these dishonorable types but have since discovered that dueling is much more satisfying to methan being as cheap as possible in pvp.

I started playing dark souls several months after release, and never played demon souls. So when it came to my first pvp experiences, I inevitably got owned. Being a competitive person, I very quickly wanted to figure out how to take my vengeance. After playing a lot of my first playthrough using a claymore, it didn't take too long to figure out that greatswords are good at stunlocking, and I gained my first pvp victory this way. After beating the game for the first time, I decided to make my first pvp build using greatswords. It ended up being a str/fai build using DMB and the man- serpent greatsword.

I will add at this point that I had been minimizing my use of the wiki as much as possible, so I didn't know about every piece of gear in the game. I was also not aware of the unofficial honor type rules that a lot of people stick too, and had not web on any dark souls forums yet. So when I discovered how strong the giants armour and mothers mask on my first playthrough, I knew they would be strong for pvp and naturally built my greatsword user around these.